Awards 2017-07-03T10:45:15+00:00

IRF Global Road Achievement Awards: Showcasing Global Industry Excellence

The International Road Federation’s Global Road Achievement Awards (GRAA) is a one-of-a kind competition to recognize innovative road projects and exemplary people that place the road industry at the forefront of worldwide social and economic development.

Instituted in 2000, the Awards have distinguished more than 120 programs, projects and products from around the world. Today, the Awards are recognized as a prestigious industry accolade in their own right, but they also serve to remind a much wider audience that the mobility everyone takes for granted would not be possible without the talent and commitment of our industry. By showcasing new technologies and creative solutions, they also serve as an accelerator of progress and new ideas.

IRF views the awards as an important way to promote road innovation around the world and will make substantial efforts to see that the awarded achievements receive maximum worldwide publicity, including a presentation of a crystal trophy at the IRF Annual Awards Dinner and recognition in industry publications.

2017 Competition now Open

2017 applications are currently being accepted across the 12 award categories through May 27, 2017. Winners will be recognized at the IRF Middle East & North Africa Regional Congress & Exhibition, to be held October 29-31 in Dubai, UAE.

Entries are judged by an international panel of expert judges drawn from the IRF’s academic members, as well as independent subject matter specialists. No member of the selection panel may have an interest or bias related to the current applications. If a judge should have such an interest, that judge will be excused from reviewing the applicable entry/entries and an alternate will be appointed.

The selection panel is not obligated to select an award recipient in each of the eleven categories. Rather, the panel will recognize only those submissions that show outstanding merit. The panel also has the discretion to recognize submissions that do not win an award, yet nevertheless show exceptional merit.

Entries are open to projects that may have been recognized in other award programs, provided that they have not been recognized in a previous IRF Global Road Achievement Award competition.

There is no limit to the number of entries an organization may submit.

Note: Winners will produce a 90- to 120-second HD/UHD (16:9) video highlighting their winning project. The video will be displayed on the IRF website and during the GRAA awards dinner.

2017 GRAA Information Brochure
Submit your project
2016 Book of Winning Projects

Key Dates

• May 17: Application due –  Closed
• June 17: Winners notified
• July 15: Book of Winning Projects materials due
• September 2: Project video due
• October 30: IRF Awards Ceremony